Greek like Violin: Day 2

This second day of studying Greek with the same dedication, determination and discipline as a world-class violin player began the same as the first. I was up at a quarter till 5, arrived at Starbucks just as they opened, ordered my Green Tips tea and began with prayer.

Different from yesterday, I only had about 1.5 hours instead of 3. Here is the breakdown:

Devotions:

0510-0530 – Ruth 1:6-12 (mostly the Hebrew, with some touches into the LXX. will try to do the entire verse again in the Greek OT after reading the Hebrew going forward).

0530-0620 – Luke 1 (a monster of a reading selection! but so edifying. I was tempted at about verse 20 to move on to syntax study and vocab, but realized that I was actually picking up some new words due to repetition. Luke, at least in chapter 1, has a tendency to repeat some unique words. these would make an interesting study in discourse and rhetorical analysis, as well as some lexical studies).

Summary:

Although I did not get in the 4 hours that I intend to achieve each day, I enjoyed even doing my devotions purely from the OL (original languages). Also, my confidence was boosted reading Luke, because I moved through it much faster than when I attempted it a year ago.

Tomorrow’s plan is to continue reading through Ruth and Luke for devotions, then return to Metzger’s vocab and begin reading all of Wallace’s GGBB again (I read through the entire book last Fall. repetition is the key to learning, the key to learning is repetition!)

One comment

  1. I love it man! This is on my task list. Planning session tonight, start tomorrow. Keep it up! Praying the Word draws us closer to Him!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Daily Dose of Latin

A Latin a day keeps the doctor away...

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Larry Hurtado's Blog

Comments on the New Testament and Early Christianity (and related matters)

Daniel B. Wallace

Executive Director of CSNTM & Senior Research Professor of NT Studies at Dallas Theological Seminary

Life Matters New York

40 days of reflection · © John G. Mason · www.christchurchnyc.com

Old School Script

where linguistics & biblical studies intersect

New Testament Scholarship Worldwide

Bridging Eastern and Western New Testament Scholarship

German for Neutestamentler

A blog devoted to the translation of German New Testament scholarship

Seriously

tom's blogging at last

Words on the Word

Blog by Abram K-J

