Greek like Violin: Day 10 (Week 2 complete!)

Two weeks down. This feels good. I can get used to this.

To be completely honest, it’s hard. I had the same feelings last Thursday night and Friday morning when my alarm went off: I was very tempted to just take a break and sleep in. But something compelled me to get out of bed. Partly it was a desire not to fail. Also, I recalled quickly how refreshing it is to complete a practice session. And, funny as it is, I pictured in my head a violin, and that image brought rushing into my head all the things I’ve been saying and doing the last two weeks. There was no choice: I slid out of the covers, brushed my teeth, downed a glass of water and drove to Starbucks. Let’s do this.

I did make another change today in the Hebrew portion of my reading. I’ve been reading a verse in Hebrew, then immediately reading that same verse in Greek (LXX), and then moving on. Now that I’ve begun Genesis, I’m tackling it one paragraph at a time (this morning I managed to consume 3. Slower than I’d like, but it will improve). So, read one paragraph in Hebrew, then go back and read that same paragraph in Greek (LXX). This helped maintain the flow of the reading better and made for a better devotional experience. Try it!

genesis-hebrew2

Practice:

0615-0655 – Genesis 1:1–19 (Hebrew/LXX)

0700-0800 – 1 Corinthians 1–3 (Greek)

Background:

0805-0835 – “Hellenism” in DNTB

Summary:

2.5 hours of solid study. This morning was tough. Distractions came easy, and I did not move as quickly as I would have liked. I’m starting to understand the value in taking breaks. Constantly going at it hard and deliberate for 2–3 hours 5 days a week is tiring, albeit exhilarating. This weekend I plan to read familiar psalms in Hebrew, and continue reading quickly through 1 Corinthians. Maybe I’ll take my break on Sunday…

2 comments

  1. Tavis, if you find time you could always look at the DSS.

    Like

    1. Cliff, that’s a great idea, and a timely reminder. I’ve been wanting to get into my copy of DSS. Too bad I just packed it and sent it off to storage 2 hours away!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Daily Dose of Latin

A Latin a day keeps the doctor away...

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Larry Hurtado's Blog

Comments on the New Testament and Early Christianity (and related matters)

Daniel B. Wallace

Executive Director of CSNTM & Senior Research Professor of NT Studies at Dallas Theological Seminary

Life Matters New York

40 days of reflection · © John G. Mason · www.christchurchnyc.com

Old School Script

where linguistics & biblical studies intersect

New Testament Scholarship Worldwide

Bridging Eastern and Western New Testament Scholarship

German for Neutestamentler

A blog devoted to the translation of German New Testament scholarship

Seriously

tom's blogging at last

Words on the Word

Blog by Abram K-J

