How to study 5 languages simultaneously (or, the 3-year Psalms Project)

I feel overwhelmed. How is a girl (or guy, like me) supposed to master five different languages while having to read vast amounts of material just to keep up with doctoral studies?

Here is a proposal. I’m just thinking this one through before making a full commitment. I’m thinking of reading through the entire book of Psalms in three years. Each week will focus on a particular psalm (or portion of a larger psalm). Each morning will devote a half hour to this study, which will go one verse at a time, starting with the Greek, then encountering the Hebrew, Latin, German, French, and English (of course).

Here’s a screenshot from BibleWorks9 so you can see my setup:

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 8.55.53 PM

 

Looks fun, right?

The best part of this whole exercise (if I can commit), is the tremendous benefit of soaking oneself in the living waters of the psalms. They are packed full of vibrant theology, like a suitcase packed so full of clothing for you trip to England that you can’t even close the zipper. Yeah, you literally have to sit on a psalm and jump up and down on it just to move the zipper one inch. And when you do that, some old sweater your mom gave you pops out the other end.

packed-suitcase-640x325

My point: you can’t contain their rich theology.

That’s what each morning is going to feel like, really. Straining and fighting and sweating through the different languages, all the while getting showered with fresh thoughts of and prayers to God.

And at the end of the week? Well, by that time I should be able to read through that particular psalm in all five languages without too much difficulty.

Even if that old sweater still hangs out.

2 comments

  1. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    Like

    1. SEO, what is your blog address? Let me check it out first.

      Like

Leave a comment

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Daily Dose of Latin

A Latin a day keeps the doctor away...

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Larry Hurtado's Blog

Comments on the New Testament and Early Christianity (and related matters)

Daniel B. Wallace

Executive Director of CSNTM & Senior Research Professor of NT Studies at Dallas Theological Seminary

Life Matters New York

40 days of reflection · © John G. Mason · www.christchurchnyc.com

Old School Script

where linguistics & biblical studies intersect

New Testament Scholarship Worldwide

Bridging Eastern and Western New Testament Scholarship

German for Neutestamentler

A blog devoted to the translation of German New Testament scholarship